Piedmont Flight Training



A Private Pilot Certificate is the first step to becoming a pilot. The certificate provides the foundational knowledge and skills for all future aircraft pilot training.


Learn the fundamental steps for flying in adverse weather conditions. 


Learn to master the airplane and achieve the necessary rating to fly for hire.

Flight Instructor

Teaching is the highest form of understanding.  Help shape the next generation of pilots.  At the same time, build your flight time towards your career pilot goal.  

If you want to be paid to fly in any capacity, a commercial pilot certificate is required.  A pilot must obtain ratings for each category and class of airplane they wish to be paid to operate.

Commercial Certificate Prerequisites

  • Be at least 18 years of age

  • Hold at least a Private Pilot Certificate

Checkride Completion Requirements

  • 120 Hours Total Time

  • 10 Hours of Complex Time

  • Choice of Technically Advanced Aircraft (TAA) or Multi-Engine
ATC Communications
Investment Options:
Training blocks of 10 and 25 hour available in TAA or the Multi-Engine
GI Bill

Commercial Rating

Multi-Engine Land

Multi-Engine Land Prerequisites

  • Be at least 18 years of age

  • Hold at least a Private Pilot Certificate or a Commercial Single-Engine Land (CSEL) for the Add-On

Checkride Completion Requirements

  • 15 fight hours and 6 grounds hours

  • Demonstrate proficiency in single-engine operations

  • No written required if already completed the CSEL
Average Cost: Call for more information

Our School Will Remain Open With Enhanced Health Precautions and Procedures

Piedmont Flight Training takes concerns about COVID-19 very seriously. Our number one priority is the safety of all students and staff. We have been proactive in educating our students and staff in reference to healthy protective measures and will expend every effort to continue to do our part in the protection of public health and follow appropriate guidance as necessary from the CDC and NC government authorities.

Critical Infrastructure Sectors
There are 16 critical infrastructure sectors whose assets, systems, and networks, whether physical or virtual, are considered so vital to the United States that their incapacitation or destruction would have a debilitating effect on security, national economic security, national public health or safety, or any combination thereof. Presidential Policy Directive 21 (PPD-21): Critical Infrastructure Security and Resilience advances a national policy to strengthen and maintain secure, functioning and resilient critical infrastructure. This directive supersedes Homeland Security Presidential Directive 7.
Aviation is Part of Our Critical Infrastructure Sectors
Aviation includes aircraft, air traffic control systems, and about 19,700 airports, heliports and landing strips. Approximately 500 provide commercial aviation services at civil and joint-use military airports, heliports, and sea plane bases.  In addition, the aviation mode includes commercial and recreational aircraft (manned and unmanned) and a wide-variety of support services, such as aircraft repair stations, fueling facilities, navigation aids, and flight schools. Source Link